Experimental Geographies

"There is tenderness only in the coarsest demand: that no-one shall go hungry any more" – Theodor Adorno, Minima Moralia (1974: 156)

Working on my Short Game

I was initially going to post my first substantial set of comments on the historical development of the squatting scene here in Berlin. The focus was going to be on the relationship between squatting and the built form. I’ve been especially interested for some time in the notion that to squat was to indeed make a spatial commitment to producing a particular set of affective and autonomous geographies of attachment, dwelling and expression. I was also going to rehearse  – far too haphazardly I suspect – some new ideas about the negative dialectics of activism and resistance. I’ve been reading an interesting new collection entitled Negativity and Revolution: Adorno and Political Activism (ed. by Holloway et al) which makes some interesting arguments about the nature of social struggle. 

More on all this another time… In a much lighter vein (and eating humble pie after my earlier post on squatting and tourism), I was invited last night to a challenging game of golf on the roof of a former squat in Prenzlauer Berg. They’ve set up a rather fiendish mini-golf course which, truth be told, got the better of me. I definitely need to work on my short game…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2009 by in Politics, Social Movements.
